Happy Birthday Jason

by fromsugarwithstyle

This past weekend we celebrated my fiance’s birthday. Since he wasn’t here on his actual birthday ( it was on February 2nd and he was on base) I wanted to make it special from the moment he walked in the door. I decorated our place with balloons and signs and had a gift and a cake waiting for him on the table. He wanted a cake made like the one I did for my friends 2 yr old. You can find it  here as a post on CreativeKristi.com. I changed up the colors but used the same technique. This one was chocolate with Nutella filling and vanilla butter cream. My only problem with this cake was that the black icing took on an awful flavor because of the food coloring. I had to scrape the black parts off of my piece. Does anyone have a trick for making black icing that tastes good?? Oh! and that is also genuinely black? This one was sort of dark purple.

Tags:

3 Comments to “Happy Birthday Jason”

  1. Lindsey ! The cake looks fab ! I love it. You are so wonderful ! I am so happy for you guys.

  2. Try add some fruit puree with an icing. It will adds a fruity flavor to your icing. I know bright color icing sometime taste awful. I hope this is helpful. Jason is a lucky guy! ❤

  3. You are such a talent!! Looks great!!

Leave a Reply

